Do góry
Security Council

Security Council

The Security Council has major responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security. It is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations.

The Security Council consists of fifteen members, and each Member has one vote. Five powerful countries (that were the victors of World War II - Russia, the United Kingdom, France, China, and the United States) serve as "permanent members" along with ten members sitting two-year terms (elected on a regional basis). The permanent members can veto any Security Council resolution.

Under the United Nations Charter, the main functions and powers of the Security Council are:

  • to determine the existence of a threat to peace and to recommend what action should be taken;
  • to impose economic sanctions and other measures not involving the use of force to prevent or stop aggression;
  • to establish peacekeeping operations or take military action against an aggressor and authorize the use of force to restore international peace and security

All Member States are obligated to comply with Council decisions.


  • Nuclear energy in terms of conflicts.

  • Using data and technology regarding espionage and tracking by governments, military and terrorist organizations.